Victorian Wader Study Group

VWSG FIELDWORK PROGRAMME

January to July 2018

DATEPLACE AND OBJECTIVESTide time
and height (m)
Sat 6 Jan Yallock Creek
Small waders
Set net 1200
1700 2.80
Tue 9 Jan to
Wed 10 Jan
Stockyard Point
Small waders
Set net 1400
(Stay overnight on 9th at Harewood House)
0750
(Sat)
2.89
Fri 26 Jan to
Sat 27 Jan
Barrallier Island, Western Port
Small waders
By boat from Tooradin
(Stay overnight on 26th at Harewood House)
0808
(Sat)
2.71
Mon 29 Jan to
Thur 1 Feb
Corner Inlet
Bar-tailed Godwit and Red Knot
(Stay at Manns Beach Hall)
0960
to
1308
2.62
to
2.42
Sat 3 Feb Friends of Shorebirds SE AGM
Campbell’s residence, 22 Lindsay Street, Mt Gambier
Commencing 11am
RSVP to Jeff and Sarah (for catering) - sarah.jeffcampbell@bigpond.com
NA NA
Sun 4 Feb Rhyll
Bar-tailed Godwit
1653
2.84
Sat 24 Feb to
Sun 25 Feb
Barry Beach
Red-necked Stint and Curlew Sandpiper
Set net Friday 23
Stay overnight 23th and 24th at Davidson’s House, Yanakie
0737
to
0811
2.59
to
2.62
Sat 17 Mar to
Mon 26 Mar
King Island


Fri 30 Mar to
Sun 8 April
South Australia
Travel days Friday 30 March and Sunday 8 April
Fri 22 June to
Sat 23 June
Corner Inlet
Overwintering Bar-tailed Godwit and Red Knot
Set net Thursday 21
(Stay overnight on 21st and 22nd Davidson’s House, Yanakie)
0741
to
0832
2.49
to
2.41
Fri 29 June to
Sat 30 June
Corner Inlet
Overwintering Bar-tailed Godwit and Red Knot
Set net Friday 29
(Stay overnight on 28th and 29th Davidson’s House, Yanakie)
1423
to
1511
2.46
to
2.53

 

PARTICIPATION ARRANGEMENTS

The meeting time is normally 5 hours before high tide.

Please try and let Penny or Rob know, by email or by phone, several days before each fieldwork activity if you are planning to participate. This greatly helps reduce the number of phone calls which organizers have to make to complete a satisfactory team for each activity.

Penny Johnspennyjohns@hotmail.com
0419 366 507
Rob Patrickrob@farmingminds.com.au
0408 429 944

 

OTHER VWSG CONTACTS

Clive Minton165 Dalgetty Rd, Beaumaris. 3193.
9589 4901 (h)
0427 831 080 (field only)
mintons@ozemail.com.au
Roz Jessop0427 521 857
moonbird39@gmail.com
Susan Taylor5182 5470 (h)
5183 9104 (w)
0428 839 104
susan.taylor@delwp.vic.gov.au
Prue Wright9489 7508 (h)
0404 002 745
prue327@gmail.com
Ken Gosbell9878 9722
0429 804 524 (field only)
ken@gosbell.id.au
Robyn Atkinson5251 3177 (h)
0429 965 271
atkinson@hugonet.com.au